Ender’s Game

I am currently rereading Ender’s Game, by Orson Scott Card.  I’m only about a quarter of the way through it this time around, and I am already struck by the difference in tone from the last several science fiction books I’ve read.  The book is undoubtedly scifi based on the future setting and the technologies in the book, but it doesn’t read like scifi.  At its core, Ender’s Game is about Ender, the boy genius who may be the savior of humanity.  It certainly has an interesting plot, and the application of technology to education is fascinating to me as a parent trying to educate my child at home, but the heart of the story is in the characters and in Ender’s development from the third child in world that allows only two, a misfit in school and at home, into…well, if you haven’t read it I don’t want to give anything away.  Suffice it to say whether you like scifi, character studies, military dramas, or books about kids learning they don’t always have to fit in, you will like this book.  It is superbly written and one of a fairly small group of works that I am willing to call literature.

Ender's Game

5 Responses to Ender’s Game

  1. Alyce says:

    I have really been wanting to read this book, and your review confirms that I should!

  2. Drew says:

    This is my favorite scifi book of all time. I enjoyed the sequels, but Ender’s Game was by far the best. I am considering reading the new one, Ender in Exile over the Christmas break.

  3. truscifi says:

    Ender’s Game is my favorite too, although I liked Speaker For the Dead a lot also. I have been reading reviews of Ender in Exile, and so far most of them have been unenthusiastic at best. I will probably read it anyway, just because I have read everything else set in that universe. If you do read it, let me know how you liked it!

  4. Amybobamy says:

    I’ve never read it, but my husband wants the set. They sound good, thanks for the review.

  5. M says:

    You hit the nail on the head – it is sci-fi, but it doesn’t read like sci-fi. I’m not a sci-fi reader by any stretch of the imagination, and when one of my new friends in high school gave me this book as a present, I’m afraid I looked at her as if she were mental. But I did give it a try, and I’m so glad I did – it’s become one of my all-time favorites. I hope you’re enjoying your re-read! 🙂

Leave a Reply

